The Little Engine that Could

“Some days are diamonds and some days are stones”….”it’s the bad days that make you appreciate the good ones”…. “the grass is always greener on the other side” …. ” I have a week’s work to do in a day” ….” I’m just so tired”….well, the last one wasn’t a cliché but you get the message! Ask a question today and you will get many answers as to why someone cannot do a task.

We are planning our singles weekend in Lake City. Interesting responses….. ” I don’t support the idea of ministering to (special) groups” …. “WE….minister to everyone equally”…. followed by “but we don’t really have any singles”…. “well, you know, some of those people are divorced (whispered)” …. to the individuals “it’s too expensive (said by the single parent who just took her kids to Universal for a week). Lots of reasons NOT to succeed.

Went to a kid’s conference last weekend and learned about Orbeez , little synthetic rubber balls that go from the size of a mustard seed to the size of a grape if you add water. Pretty cool. Also, learned how a missionary asked for and was given 6 million meals to feed the hungry in Honduras. The solution: he asked and helped make it happen.

little-engine-that-could

Reminds me of a story I read as a kid, “The Little Engine That Could”. The question was if this little train engine could pull a load over the big mountain. After all, he was a small engine. But the engine said ” I think I can” and kept reminding himself each time the going got tough. ” I think I can!” “I think I can!”.

It’s time for us (believers, married people and singles, parents and grandparents, college age through grandparents to step up.  ” I think I can” will become ” I can’t believe I ate the whole thing”. Well, you get the idea!

Leave a Reply

