Being Proactive (in 2013) is a choice!

Matthew 25:1-13- tHE PARABLE OF THE ten VIRGINS……………..

     As we see in the parable of the TEN VIRGINS, five were prepared for the coming of the bridegroom and five were not. I see alot of advice to Christian singles (all Christians for that matter) in this parable. In our modern society, the 5 prepared young ladies would be called PROACTIVE and the five unprepared would be called REACTIVE! Unfortunately, I see alot of reaction in our society today. Here are some examples:

*JOB SITUATION: Alot of people hang in there with employers in dead end jobs until they are either laid off or the hours are cut so low that they can’t pay their bills. Then it takes months to find another job and bills are further behind. I feel that the prudent worker should thank GOD everyday for his job AND be actively seeking the next one daily. Also, might be a good time to go back to school and learn something new (something in demand…..)

*RELATIONSHIPS: I hear people all the time say things like “if I had known how sick she was, I would have visited more….” -or- “i wish I had told my husband how important he was to me….” -or- ” I wish I done more with the kids….”. Ok! Great! So spent the time, send a card, give a hug or kiss or whatever! NOW! While they are still breathing or within armslength.

*SERVICE TO OTHERS: “I wonder if Inner City Kids could relate to me?”  -or- ” I wonder if the homeless ministry is worth it” -or- “I gave up on church because all they do is sit around and bicker about (clapping hands….KJV…the right preaching school…)”. Get out their and be useful! YOU glorify GOD when you feed the hungry, clothe the naked or poorly dressed, comfort a child or visit a sick person! Practice serving others so when the difficult times of service like mnistering to elderly parents or troubled youth come around you are already experienced. Lots of ways to share Jesus through service….a free car wash, check fluids (oil and water) in single parents cars, cut the grass for a widow….lots to do besides sit and wait to be asked. Don’t WAIT to be asked to give someone a ride to the store or church.

*CHURCH: “I wish worship services were better!” -or- “I wish the singing was better!” -or- “I wish class was better”……..MAKE IT BETTER! Sing louder, speak up in class, attend reguarly and come early and stay late. Take a visitor to lunch. Tell the preacher he did a good job.

     2013 is a year of CHANGES for LAUNCH SINGLES also. The activities list will be up but I (Jim) am working out of state so we can make our bills. I can’t plan much til summer. So give us UPCOMING events and take the bull by the horns. Be pro-active and plan something! WE do have a plan for a WEEK of SERVICE in BAYOU LA BATRE, Alabama this summer. Pray hard for us, each other and GO MAKE DISCIPLES!

 

Leave a Reply

