Why Every Church Needs a Singles Ministry II

     Did you know that more are unmarried than married. 51% of the American population is single. That includes the widows and widowers, divorcees and never married. The scary part is that close to 40% of couples who are having children are not married. And alot of them are in the church. And not just one child. Why get married? I know many have been married and divorced repeatedly and it scares the younger generation. Celibacy…..doesn’t seem to be an option. Marriage causes a loss of financial benefit to many from the young parents to those on social security.

     What can be done? A church needs to provide strong fellowship which emphasizes accountability. Unfortunately, many singles attending church “don’t need a singles ministry”. And they are unwilling to provide singles ministry to others. The key to singles ministry isn’t the ministers and elders. It’s a strong desire by the individual single to minister to others.

5 responses to “Why Every Church Needs a Singles Ministry II

  1. I think there is a lot of scary things that are going on in general. Tonight on the phone with my grandmother, I talked to her about how lazy my generation is, wanting everything our way and instantly. However, I don’t think that divorce, remarriage, or having babies (or multiple babies) out of wedlock are the problem. I think those are symptoms of a larger issue that we as a church are try to sweep under the rug. We are all so busy filling our own lives with meaningless activity and putting God on the sidelines until Sunday or Wednesday when we decide to get in HIS game. Our churches are lacking out reach to each other and the community. If I weren’t already a member of the Lord’s church, I don’t know what would attract me to become one- I’ve often thought of finding another congergation that has more outreach. It’s not me being selfish- I just want to save myself (and others) from this world.

    As I sit here and write this, the tears are pouring down my face. Inside I’m hurting tremendously because of situations that I put myself in. I’m carrying a symptom of a bigger problem- We’re all human, we all make mistakes, we’re all in this together with the same goal- to one day meet our Father in Heaven. I truely think we need to get up off our rears, stop blaming our circumstances, stop passing judgement, and take that time to get out and help someone who really needs to meet Jesus.

  2. I think there is a lot of scary things that are going on in general. Tonight on the phone with my grandmother, I talked to her about how lazy my generation is, wanting everything our way and instantly. However, I don’t think that divorce, remarriage, or having babies (or multiple babies) out of wedlock are the problem. I think those are symptoms of a larger issue that we as a church are try to sweep under the rug. We are all so busy filling our own lives with meaningless activity and putting God on the sidelines until Sunday or Wednesday when we decide to get in HIS game. Our churches are lacking out reach to each other and the community. If I weren’t already a member of the Lord’s church, I don’t know what would attract me to become one- I’ve often thought of finding another congergation that has more outreach. It’s not me being selfish- I just want to save myself (and others) from this world.

    As I sit here and write this, the tears are pouring down my face. Inside I’m hurting tremendously because of situations that I put myself in. I’m carrying a symptom of a bigger problem- We’re all human, we all make mistakes, we’re all in this together with the same goal- to one day meet our Father in Heaven. I truely think we need to get up off our rears, stop blaming our circumstances, stop passing judgement, and take that time to get out and help someone who really needs to meet Jesus

  3. Hear! Hear! Thanks for sharing your heart! We have been so good at checking off the list that there is no room for worship, praise, and true fellowship. Seemed that a rich, young ruler had the same thing going.
    Jim Cymbala, from the Brooklyn Tabernacle, observed that more Americans are religious than ever before….but in a skin deep, non-committal way.
    And judging others…..I’m certainly not qualified.
    Hang in there. GOD has big plans for kindergarten teachers! You are molding society!!!!

  4. This blog is similar to the one initiated in March 2008. The controversy over whether singles need or do not need a ministry, what the needs of singles are in 2008, etc. was discussed.
    This AM during bible study, the teacher was comparing character attributes of those found during Paul’s fourth missionary journey. The teacher further interjected that although he was not telling anyone who to vote for, he did not see how any Christian could vote for a candidate who believes in abortion. The point I’m attempting to make here is that I doubt very seriously that anyone chooses to commit a criminal and immoral act such as murder. To further the point, the act of abortion is the final result of violating Philippians 2:4. It seems to me as though people don’t care about the affairs of others. When will the evangelizing begin to invite young and/or single people to church. I can’t for a moment believe that the present male members of the church work where there are no other single men. I point out the men, as it is the men who are responsible for the church’s operations. It would appear rather strange if a woman recruited all the males. Woman can invite other women to church. However, what would they find there? Would there be single men of all ages, all professions, sizes, shapes, attributes, etc? Getting back to the analogy of abortion, we could discuss what came first, the chicken or the egg. We could discuss who should truly wear the scarlet letter. We could discuss that all a woman has to do is to just say NO. Fat chance that the woman’s words would be honored. In reality, the woman must bear the responsibility for her upright character, as well as bear the responsibility of the males lack of character. Again, Phillippians 2:4 indicates we should care about the affairs of others and not just our own affairs. Although I’m not crying or shedding tears, I’m saddened because of the lack of eligible men in the Church of Christ. The same as my earlier blog, I doubt that I will have grand children. The family heritage can only be carried through my daughters. the family has just about ended. That makes me EXTREMELY saddened. They will not have children for the sake of having children by having children out of wedlock. I believe God has a plan and I must trust his plan. But in the meantime, there’s a whole lot of hurting going on. Philippians 2:4.

  5. Evelyn, i’m with you! Where are these single men “leaders” that we need? Have they all sold out and none has the backbone to serve GOD and be faithful to family and community?
    I suspect many have fallen for the “apple” that says “women are independent, pay their own bills and take care of their own children. All men are good for is recreational sex”-Gloria Steinum
    I know alot of fine Christian women who can’t find a strong faithful mate. Let’s pray your daughters do find a good man.
    Abortion is obviously destroying a life. I can’t understand why it’s allowed.

Leave a Reply

