Christian Dating #1

     Like I would know………My grandfather told me to compliment a girl “Mary, that’s a nice dress!” I told him that girls weren’t wearing dresses in my school anymore. He said “Boy, you are on your own then.”  Compliments still work. Sincere, appropriate compliments.

A good resource: Joshua Harris: I kissed Dating Goodbye.

Dr. Grey suggested that Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus……..He suggests that if a woman wants to meet a man, take up a manly habit, like golf or scuba. If a man wants to meet a women, take an arts and crafts class or go antique (ing). MY WARNING: it only works if you plan to continue this behavior through the subsequent marriage. Otherwise, deception is obvious.

     When dating, we are on our best behavior. Things go downhill from there. So watch how your “date” behaves. (MEN) If they are eager to buy the most expensive item on the menu, you can expect them to be high maintenance. (LADIES) if you notice him “eyeballing” other women…..get used to it. (BOTH) if your date is a jerk toward the waitstaff at a restaurant or the clerks in the store, this is how they will be to you. After all, you will be “only a servant” soon enough.

Good question: Are you a Christian? 90% of Americans would say yes.

Better question: Do you attend the Lord’s church? Many attend but warming a pew isn’t enough, is it?

Best question: Do you love the Lord with all your heart, mind and soul? Probably a keeper!

If you want to meet a drunk, go to a bar. If you want to have a spouse to take care of….marry one who is 30 and still lives at home. If you like them “broken in” marry the one with the bad rep. (read Hosea). If you want separate lives, marry an exact opposite.

Let me hear from you!

Remember: Aug. 16: Float trip- Rainbow River, Aug. 23- Dinner Cruise- Panama City

3 responses to “Christian Dating #1

  1. Ok, so, my problem is I can’t seem to find him. I live in Dixie County, very small and there is just not much good single guys in these parts. So I should look some where else right? Well where do I look?

    And I know what kinda guy I need/want, I only want the one that God has prepared for me or is preparing for me. How do I know who that is when I meet him?

    I just feels so lost about it all.

  2. Darbi, put yourself where Christian men will be. LAUNCH Singles events included. Volunteer at Habitat for Humanity or other community work that attracts good godly men. Use the christian web sites. I know it’s hard.
    Steve, I’ll check out your blog. And yes, Harris is only a starting point.

Leave a Reply

